NT09: Tenth International Conference on
the Science and Application of Nanotubes

Beijing, China
June 21-26, 2009
MSU Home Page:


Nanotubes belong to a class of materials which owing to their quasi one-dimensional structure exhibit a variety of fascinating properties and offer a diversity of issues for research of both fundamental and practical interest. This meeting will bring leading scientists in the area of nanotube science together to evaluate past and define future trends of this exciting field. The conference will address progress at the frontiers of fundamental as well as applied research and will allow participants to exchange ideas and results of their latest work in an informal atmosphere.

Topics receiving special attention include:

  • Mechanical properties of nanotubes and composite materials
  • Electronic and optical properties
  • Progress in nanotube synthesis and purification
  • Chemical modification and tailoring of nanotube properties
  • Large-scale production
  • Applications

Format of the Conference:

NT09 Organization:

  • Organizing Committee:
  Shoushan Fan (Tsinghua University, China)
  Sishen Xie (Institute of Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  Fei Wei (Tsinghua University, China)
  Huiming Cheng (Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  Jin Zhang (Peking University, China)
  Hongjie Dai (Stanford University, USA)
  David Tomanek (Michigan State University, USA)
  • International Advisory Board of NT09:
  Jean-Christophe Charlier (Université de Louvain, Belgium)
  Hongjie Dai (Stanford University, USA)
  Mildred Dresselhaus (MIT, USA)
  Tony Heinz (Columbia University, USA)
  Jisoon Ihm (Seoul National University, Korea)
  Annick Loiseau (LEM Châtillon, France)
  Richard Martel (Université de Montreal, Canada)
  Wolfgang Maser (Instituto de Carboquimica - CSIC, Spain)
  Francesco Mauri (Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris 6, France)
  Marcos Pimenta (UFMG, Brazil)
  Riichiro Saito (Tohoku University, Japan)
  Jean-Louis Sauvajol (Université Montpellier II, France)
  Milo Shaffer (Imperial College, U.K.)
  Hisanori Shinohara (University of Nagoya, Japan)
  Christian Thomsen (TU Berlin, Germany)
  Masako Yudasaka (AIST, Japan)
  Jin Zhang (Peking University, China)

Conference Venue:

NT09 will take place on the campus of Tsinghua University in Beijing, China.

Registration is Open:

If you consider participating in the NT09 conference and wish to be kept informed, you should create a user account.