Click for Beijing, China Weather Forecast
This page has been visited 02204 times since July 29, 2008.
Last update:   2010.02.02 (Tuesday) 10:25:11 EST.
NT09: Tenth International Conference on
the Science and Application of Nanotubes

Beijing, China
June 21-26, 2009
MSU Home Page:
Tsinghua Home Page:

Statutes of the Steering Committee of Nanotube Conferences (SCNC)

1. The primary mission of the Steering Committee of Nanotube Conferences (SCNC) is to secure the continuity of the conference series.

2. All SCNC decisions, including those about the SCNC membership and the person filling the position of the SCNC Chair, are reached by a majority of votes of its members.

3. The primary responsibilities of the SCNC Chair are to
3.1. represent the SCNC and its decisions;
3.2. initiate, collect and communicate votes within the SCNC;
3.3. decide the most proper way to collect votes, including email and private communication.

4. The SCNC decisions are binding for the organizers and participants of Nanotube conferences.

5. SCNC members decide in particular about
5.1. the organizers, the location and the dates of future Nanotube conferences;
5.2. the composition of the Advisory Board of a given Nanotube conference;
5.3. changes in the Charta of the Nanotube Conference series;
5.4. matters of interest to Nanotube conferences other than the conference program.

6. The responsibilities of the SCNC are decoupled from those of the Organizers of a given conference, who decide organizational details, and those of the Advisory Board of a given nanotube conference, who select invited and contributed oral presentations.

7. The SCNC is the highest instance resolving disputes and addressing complaints related to the organization of Nanotube conferences.

8. The SCNC carries no financial or legal responsibility for the Nanotube Conferences.

9. Every SCNC member can raise at any time an issue related to the Nanotube conferences. It is the responsibility of the SCNC Chair to take the vote and communicate the decision to all members on an adequate timescale.

10. These statutes can only be modified by a majority of votes of its members.

Members of the Steering Committee of the Nanotube Conferences:

Eleanor Campbell (Edinburgh University, Scotland)
Mildred Dresselhaus (MIT, USA)
Tony F. Heinz (Columbia University, USA)
Annick Loiseau (ONERA-CNRS, France)
Marcos Pimenta (UFMG, Brazil)
Ariete Righi (UFMG, Brazil)
Humberto Terrones (IPICyT, Mexico)
Mauricio Terrones (IPICyT, Mexico)
David Tomanek (Michigan State University, USA)
Masako Yudasaka (AIST, Japan)
(status: July 2008)